Hello? Is there anybody there?!?

Hello. Well, this is all a bit nerve wracking. My very first blog post. I’m not sure which is more scary – thinking that people will read my random musings or the prospect that actually nobody will!!

Firstly let me introduce myself.  I’m Alison, I’m 35 (I only realised the other day that this most definitely puts me in my mid 30s!!), and I live in Aberdeen.  I’m mummy to a 4yo little girl (B) and a wee boy (A) who was 4 months old yesterday!

So why a blog, and why now?  I suppose I first started toying with the idea when I got really into Twitter and started following lots of mummy bloggers and reading their blogs.  My hubby is always telling me I should write a book, although he might change his mind when he realises how much of it would be about him!!  😉  Also writing is one of the few things I miss about my job (PR & Comms for an oil company) while on maternity leave – well, that and proof reading other people’s writing, I miss my red pen!!!  As for the timing, I nearly started a blog at the beginning of last year as a diary of my pregnancy, but we sadly lost the baby, and while writing about how I was feeling was definitely therapeutic, it felt too private to share (and probably not the cheeriest way to start off in the blogging world!).  We were very lucky and I fell pregnant again very quickly, but I was too scared of jinxing things to share the pregnancy so publicly (silly I know).  So I’ve now been faffing about on WordPress for a few weeks, trying to pluck up the courage to post and also to work out how on earth it all works, and I figured the best way to get started is just to write, and worry about making it look pretty later!  I also had lots of encouragement from some of my Twitter friends – I have no idea how to link to their blogs at the moment but they know who they are!

I suspect most of my posts will be about the kids and family life, with some baking (food in general actually!), lovely shoes, books, trashy TV and my addiction to boy bands (yes, I know, at 35 I should know better!) thrown in for good measure.

As for the blog name, here in the North East of Scotland, a ‘fine piece’ is a cake, biscuit or other sweet treat.  I am very partial to cakes and biscuits.  I’m also very partial to a ‘blether’ – a chinwag, a natter, a good old catch up!  In fact the two go very well together.  Nothing better than meeting up with a friend for a coffee, cake and a chat.  And hopefully that’s what this blog will become – firstly for me, a place to witter on to my heart’s content as though I’m chatting to a friend, and also for any regular readers who decide to join me.

So thank you for reading.  Please come back soon and join me for a fine piece and a blether!

25 thoughts on “Hello? Is there anybody there?!?

  1. mutteringmummy says:

    Yay!! Well done you, it’s scary hitting that publish button for the first time, isn’t it? I look forward to reading more 🙂 xx

  2. This is very exciting. I suspect you’ll write an absolutely lovely blog. I totally get what you mean about blogging your pregnancy. I’ve always struggled to do regular updates when pregnant. It’s all too scary, when you’ve had a loss I think.

    • Ah thank you, that’s very kind of you to say so! Yes, to be honest we almost pretended it wasn’t happening until we’d had the 12 week scan. It certainly made me realise how much I took for granted during my first pregnancy.

  3. Hello, first of all I am sorry to hear of your loss. Worrying about jinxing yourself is not at all silly! I liked your explanation about what a ‘fine piece’ means up your way 🙂 I love a nice bit of cake, so much so, that I started a running club called Cake Club. I am dyslexic so I will be happy to provide all the typos you can handle here, on twitter, my blog etc….you need miss work no more!

  4. Congratulations on starting the blog and publishing your first post! What a fantastic name, i’m glad you explained it because i wouldn’t of known what it truly meant otherwise =] Its nice to learn abit more about you as well. Good luck with everything blogging, it really is like a big happy (and disfunction at times) family. I have gotton a lot out of blogging and i’ve only been going for about 7 months myself. I find it very therapeutic. I’ll stop writing now as this comment is becoming a long! Enjoy =D xxx

  5. Welcome to blogging! Good luck. I love the name. My OHs family are from Scotland and they call him a blether (or something like that) as he likes to chat a lot! Look forward to reading more x

  6. This is a lovely start. I shall drop in now and then, even if you don’t live by the river…;-)

    Now to be serious for a moment. (Yes, I can be, just sometimes.) I totally understand the ‘not blogging your pregnancy’ thing. My dear old mum, bless her, lost three before I came along. I used to get cross when she fussed me. Now i miss her. [sigh]

    So… A girl band? None specially, unless you count these three, backed by male musicians:

  7. Hi Alison, welcome to the world of blogging – I have a feeling you’ll really enjoy it 🙂 Love the name! For me there are fewer things in life more comforting that catching up with a friend while eating cake and drinking coffee. Looking forward to reading more xx

Leave a Reply

