This Month I Read – May

I’m finally getting a chance to link up with the lovely Muttering Mummy‘s #ThisMonthIRead – now that A is in his own room I am getting a bit more of a chance to read in the evenings again (especially now Masterchef is finished!!).  So here’s what I read this month:

Shadows of the Workhouse by Jennifer Worth

This is the second of three books that the Call The Midwife TV series is based on.  I love the programme and read the first book last year, then hubby bought me book number 3 for Christmas, so I treated myself to this so I could read them in order!  This book has fewer babies being born than the first book, and concentrates more on some of the characters in the East End of London that Jennifer Worth came across while working in Poplar, and how living in the workhouses of the early 1900s shaped their lives.  The writing is very descriptive, and even the stories and characters I knew from the TV series took on an extra dimension.  While there are tales of terrible hardship and tragedy, there are also heartwarming moments of triumph and love.  I really enjoyed the book and am looking forward to reading the third one soon!

 

The Last Letter From Your Lover by JoJo Moyes

Set in both the 1960s and 2003, two women’s lives become connected by a series of love letters written in the 60s.  The prologue is set in 2003, but then the book tells the tale of Jennifer Stirling, married to a wealthy industrialist but in love with another man.  I was so engrossed in this love story that by the time I got to Part 3, which returns to 2003 (about 300 pages in!), I had forgotten that was how the book had started!  But the way the author brings the two stories together work really well, and I was desperate for two happy endings!  It is a wonderfully written book, a real tear jerker and so compelling.  Each chapter is interspersed with real life ‘last letters’ (or text messages!) which will tug at your heart strings and make you laugh in equal measure!  Most definitely my read of the month  🙂

 

Green Man Running – Georgina Hammick

Green Man Running tells the tale of 40 something Dexter, his two sons, and his live-in girlfriend Moy, who Dexter wants to marry.  Their lives are complicated by Dexter’s ex-wife, his struggles with debt, his mother’s farm and Moy’s schizophrenic brother.  To be honest I struggled with this one a wee bit.  The book starts with a serious accident that happened during Dexter’s childhood, and I kept waiting for that to be revisited, or for some ’cause and effect’ that shaped Dexter’s adult life, but it was never really mentioned again.  If it had some major significance, then it was lost on me!!  I felt there were a lot of storylines and characters that could have been developed more to make it more engaging, but even by the end I found myself not really caring one way or the other what happened!

 

And that’s my lot for this month – will hopefully be back next month with more!

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “This Month I Read – May

  1. mutteringmummy says:

    I love the sound of the Jennifer Worth trilogy and The Last Letter From Your Lover. Added to my to-buy list. Thanks so much for linking up 🙂 xx

  2. emilygoesforit says:

    I loved the last letter from your lover. Such a tear jerker. I think I’ve fallen in love with JoJo Moyes a little.
    I love the sound of the trilogy, I haven’t jumped on the call the midwife bandwagon yet, even though I’ve been told I must, so to read the trilogy first would be fab. X

Leave a Reply

